~*~ CELEBRATING 44 YEARS in 2018! ~*~



Rule Book

2018 Schedule

Open Standings

Futurity Standings

Derby Standings

Youth Standings



Directions to Arenas

Past Winners


The OCA 2018 schedule is now online.



The Oklahoma Cowgirls Association was formed in 1974 by a group of women who wanted a fun place to compete and socialize.  The President for the first several years was Julie Bryant of Cushing.  The Directors included Roma Price of Ripley, Rose Barker of Agra, Shelly Isaacs of Tulsa , and Dixie Wheaton of Mounds.  JoAnn Amos was the Secretary.   We can boast several National and International Finalists: Kelli Amos Postrach, Tracy Postrach Nowlin, Betty Roper, Melanie Southard, Jamie Malone-Hiett, Dixie Wheaton, Debbie Allen, Sara Ellingson, Connie Cooper, Julana Cochran Clay, and Charla Hartness Allen.  Over the years we have also included several AQHA, APHA, PtHa, ABRA, NOTRA, and IBHA World Champions: Rose Barker, Dixie Wheaton, Sherry Brewer, Jamie Malone-Hiett, and Deena Wheaton.  The success of the OCA can be attributed directly to its ability to change with the times.  The OCA started almost as a gymkhana association.  Barrel racing was not the only event, included was pole bending, flag racing, goat tying, steer undecorating, breakaway roping, and team roping.  We also put on the Second largest futurity for several years.  Along the way, we have dropped everything except barrel racing.  We moved to the 4D format when it appeared that the Novice horse races were being forgotten.  We are now the oldest barrel racing association in Oklahoma and rank as one of the largest.

All Barrel Racers Welcome - 

Equal Money Payouts

The OCA Web pages are maintained by Tricia McLain